World Cup of Hockey

The Worlds Best hockey players open tournament Saturday

This weekend, the World Cup of Hockey tournament gets underway in Toronto featuring two weeks of some top calibre hockey.

Eight teams will play in a round-robin format to determine seeding points in the first round, then depending on the round-robin results, teams will advance to the, semi-finals  and if they continue to win, eventually to the final where a best of three series will determine the World Cup of Hockey winner.

The eight teams are Team Canada, Team Czech Republic, Team Finland, Team Russia, Team Sweden, Team USA, Team Europe and Team North America.

There has been some controversy regarding the make-up of the teams.  For example, team North America will feature some of the U.S. and Canada’s top younger players who will ultimately be playing against their home country’s, but that aside, it should be an amazing showcase of the best players in the world competing just before the start of the NHL season.

The tournament officially opens this Saturday.

Group A
Team Canada
Team Czech Republic
Team Europe
Team USA

Group B
Team Finland
Team North America
Team Russia
Team Sweden