“Smoke on the Water” and “Smells Like Teen Spirit” Added to Grammy Hall of Fame

The Grammy Hall of Fame currently totals 1,038 recordings

The Recording Academy has announced the 25 newest additions to it’s Grammy Hall of Fame. Each year, recordings are reviewed by a member committee, with final approval from The Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustee’s. It’s the 44th year of The Grammy Hall of Fame and the total number of recordings totals 1,038.

The 2017 Grammy Hall of Fame Inductees: 

Arlo Guthrie – “The City of New Orleans”
The Beach Boys – “I Get Around”
Billie Holiday – Lady Sings the Blues
Blind Willie McTell – “Statesboro Blues”
Bonnie Raitt – “I Can’t Make Your Love Me”
Cab Calloway And His Orchestra – “(Hep-Hep!) The Jumpin’ Jive”
David Bowie – “Changes”
Deep Purple – “Smoke of the Water”
Dion – “The Wanderer”
Elvis Presley – “Jailhouse Rock”
The Everly Brothers – “Wake Up Little Susie”
Jackson 5 – “ABC”
Lalo Schifrin – “Mission Impossible”
Lesley Gore – “You Don’t Own Me”
Louis Armstrong And His Orchestra – “When the Saints Go Marching In”
Merle Haggard – Okie From Muskogee
Mills Brothers – “You Always Hurt the One You Love”
Mississippi John Hurt – “Stack O’Lee Blues”
N.W.A – Straight Outta Compton
Nirvana – “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
Prince – Sign ‘O’ the Times
R.E.M. – “Losing My Religion”
Rod Stewart – “Maggie May”
Sly & The Family Stone – “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)”
Sonny & Cher – “I Got You Babe”

The 59th annual Grammy Awards will take place Sunday, February 12. James Corden is hosting.

(cover photo via Maia Valenzuela flickr)